The Irrigation Association and Irrigation Foundation, Fairfax, Virginia, have announced that the nomination process for the 2019 awards program is now open.

A cornerstone of the IA and the IA Foundation’s efforts in promoting the best that the irrigation industry has to offer, these awards recognize both individuals and projects that set the standard for making significant contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry.

The following awards are now open for nominations:

Industry Achievement Award

The Industry Achievement Award, the highest honor given by the IA, recognizes an individual from an industry or firm who has made outstanding contributions to the development of the irrigation industry.

Innovator Award

The Innovator Award honors individuals who have made significant, tangible contributions to the industry within the past five years.

Vanguard Award

The Vanguard Award honors an innovative project in the irrigation industry executed by a team of individuals, companies, organizations or other group entities. Self-made and peer nominations are acceptable.

Excellence in Education Award

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes an individual who is actively teaching or has formerly taught irrigation, water management and/or water conservation in affiliation with a two- or four-year institution.

“Each year, I am excited to see the nominations for all of our awards,” says IA CEO and Foundation Executive Director Deborah Hamlin, CAE, FASAE. “There are so many talented individuals throughout our industry that deserve recognition. I’m sure that the nominations we receive this year will once again not disappoint.”

Nominations for each award will be open through Jan. 31, 2019. Winners will be announced during Smart Irrigation Month’s Technology Tuesday on July 9, 2019. Winners will also be recognized during the 2019 Irrigation Show and Education Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada.

More information about the awards, past winners and how to submit a nomination can be found by visiting