Dec. 17 2018 07:39 AM

Twelve winners will be recognized at the Sports Turf Managers Association Conference and Exhibition in January.

5/3 Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, Ga.): Shane Hohlbein, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager

Every year, the Sports Turf Managers Association, Lawrence, Kansas, holds its annual “Field of the Year” contest. STMA presents the industry’s highest honors to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12) and parks and recreation levels.

The 2018 winners include two “Professional,” five in “College and University” and five in “Schools and Parks.”

“Each year our awards committee selects the natural grass playing surface that exemplifies the STMA member’s hard work and dedication to sports turf management and their passion for field safety and playability,” says Kim Heck, CAE, CEO of STMA. “With each passing year, the bar is raised by each applicant helping to grow the sports turf industry.”

A panel of 13 judges scored entries based on playability, appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program. Awards will be presented at the 30th annual STMA Conference & Exhibition in Phoenix, Jan. 22–25, 2019.

To view all the winners, visit STMA’s website.