ASLA announces 2018 honors recipients

The honors will be presented during the 2018 ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo in Philadelphia.

The American Society of Landscape Architects, Washington, has announced its 2018 honors recipients.

Selected by ASLA’s board of trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. The honors will be presented at the president’s dinner on Oct. 22, during the 2018 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Philadelphia.

The winners are:

ASLA Medal: Linda Jewell, Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects - Jewell’s career spans decades of ground-breaking work in teaching, practice and writing. She has founded and run three practices: first her own self-named firm, then Reynolds and Jewell in North Carolina, and since 1993, Freeman & Jewell in California. Her work with these firms has won numerous design awards, including an ASLA Honor Award for Hartford Riverfront Platform and Theater.

ASLA Design Medal: Mikyoung Kim, FASLA - The ASLA Design Medal in recognition of her design work. Kim, the founding principal of Mikyoung Kim Design, is a preeminent practitioner of landscape architecture as cultural expression.

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Patrick Miller, FASLA – awarded for significant and sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. Miller, most recently associate dean for graduate studies and outreach in the landscape architecture program at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, has emphasized landscape architecture's contribution to human well-being through better design and planning, particularly addressing underprivileged or underrepresented communities.

LaGasse Medal – Landscape Professional: Scott Bradley, FASLA - awarded for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. As director of context-sensitive solutions and an assistant director in the Minnesota Department of Transportation Office of Environmental Stewardship, Bradley has been a leading representative in promoting a national research program on transportation project planning and design.

LaGasse Medal – Non-Landscape Professional: David Archambault – awarded for contributions to the management and conservation of natural resources and public landscapes. Archambault, the former tribal chairman of the Standing Rock Indian Reservation in North Dakota, was instrumental in the Dakota Pipeline protests, one of this nation’s most notable community protection campaigns in modern history.

Olmsted Medal: Forterra, Seattle - The award, which recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision and stewardship. Forterra helps address environmental injustice and maintains the cultural character of communities by protecting land with a variety of uses.

Medal of Excellence: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections, Washington - The award recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design, or a combination of these items. Dumbarton Oaks has played a significant role in the emergence of a rigorous discipline of landscape architectural history and in the shaping of research as an important contribution to contemporary practice.

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Andropogon Associates, Philadelphia – This award is the highest honor ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architecture firm in recognition of distinguished work that influences the profession. Founded in 1975 by Carol Franklin, Colin Franklin, Leslie Sauer and Rolf Sauer, Andropogon has become a model of ecologically based landscape architectural practice.

Read more about the honors recipients and honorary members.